MMV partner Prof. David Fidock wins the 2016 Advance Global Australian of the Year Award in Life Sciences

Award celebrates the contribution of this international Australian to malaria research

21 Oct 2016

Today, long-term MMV partner and international Australian, David Fidock, Professor of Microbiology & Immunology & Medical Sciences, Columbia University, received the 2016 Advance Global Australian of the Year Award in Life Sciences at the Advance Global Australian Awards and Summit for his contribution to malaria research. The award ceremony and summit held at Sydney’s prestigious Art Gallery and Opera House saw Prof. Fidock recognized for his contribution to research on how the malaria parasite Plasmodium falciparum acquired resistance to the first-line antimalarial drugs chloroquine and artemisinin.

Prof. Fidock was among MMV’s first drug discovery partners back when the organization first began research in 2000, and he has been an important and valued collaborator ever since. Today, with MMV, his laboratory is working to define the potential of the malaria parasite to develop resistance to MMV-supported antimalarials and to understand the genetic basis behind any such resistance. Ultimately, these studies will support stronger decision-making around which compounds could counter drug resistance and how to manage this eventuality – a critical role in developing next-generation antimalarials.  

“David has made significant contributions not only to MMV’s work to discover and develop new antimalarials but also to malaria research in general,” said Dr David Reddy, MMV’s CEO. “He is a very deserving recipient of this Award and I’m delighted to see the work of this exceptional Australian scientist and MMV partner recognized in this way.”

The Advance Global Australian Awards and Summit celebrate international Australians who exhibit remarkable talent, exceptional vision and ambition. The Awards are the only of their kind to recognize the contributions of the one million Australians living abroad, and those who have returned home. The winners are selected by distinguished Australian pioneers, who themselves have made significant impact on the global stage.