Awa Marie Coll-Seck receives Best Minister Award

Awa Marie Coll-Seck receives Best Minister Award

Her Excellency, Dr Awa Marie Coll-Seck, Minister of Health and Social Action from the Republic of Senegal, was presented with the ‘Best Minister Award’ during the first day of the World Government Summit (WGS) 2017 in Dubai by United Arab Emirates Vice President and Dubai’s ruler, Sheikh Mohamed Rashed al-Maktoum.

Dr Coll-Seck served as Executive Director of the Roll Back Malaria (RBM) Partnership from 2004 to 2011. Under her leadership, RBM’s advocacy played a major role in securing an enormous leap in funding for malaria control and research. In addition, between 2000 and 2015, the number of people dying from the disease fell by a dramatic 60%. Dr Coll-Seck was a proactive member of MMV’s Board of Directors from 2011 to 2012. Prior to that, she was also the Chair of MMV’s then Access and Delivery Advisory Committee (ADAC) from 2007 to 2010.

At the WGS in Dubai she received the award for her local and international impact in the prevention of malaria, and curbing of the spread of Ebola in her country. She was also recognised for her authorship of more than 150 scientific publications and communications on diverse subjects – including malaria, measles, meningitis, tetanus, typhoid, tuberculosis, HIV/AIDS and cardiovascular diseases.

“Dr Coll-Seck is an extremely worthy recipient of the Best Minister Award. We at MMV are delighted to see her work recognised internationally in this way,” said Dr David Reddy, CEO of MMV. “She is a tireless advocate for global health, malaria elimination, and product development partnerships like MMV. Her significant impact in the fight against malaria during her time at RBM and now as Minister of Health in Senegal will continue to be felt for many years to come.”  

The WGS Best Minister Award, held in cooperation with Ernst & Young, is judged by an independent panel from the World Bank and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. It is bestowed based on four key criteria namely, leadership, innovation, motivation and achievement.