Virtual event: Engaging national leaders and communities to protect adolescents against malaria

22 March 2022, 7:00 - 8:00 am EST / 12:00 - 13:00 pm GMT (Accra) / 13:00 - 14:00 CET (Geneva) / 15:00 - 16:00 EAT (Nairobi) / 20:00 - 21:00 SGT (Singapore)

In 2020, malaria claimed 647 000 lives. The global importance of the burden of malaria is addressed in Sustainable Development Goal 3.3. While the deadly toll of malaria in children is well known - one critical issue that mostly goes unnoticed is the burden of malaria in adolescents.

Malaria is one of the five major causes of death and ill health for all adolescents in sub-Saharan Africa, where the burden of malaria is greatest. In the Oceania region (excluding Australia and New Zealand), malaria is one of the two major causes of death and ill health among all adolescent girls. Malaria among adolescents in the Asia Pacific region has also hindered malaria elimination efforts.

This virtual event will shed more light on how national leaders and communities in malaria endemic countries both in Africa and Asia can commit to protecting adolescents against malaria. Panel discussions will take place in English, French and Portuguese. 

For more information, please see the event flyers in English, French and Portuguese

If you would like to attend, please register on the event registration page.