Expert Scientific Advisory Committee (ESAC)

Expert Scientific Advisory Committee (ESAC)

MMV’s Expert Scientific Advisory Committee (ESAC) helps to identify the best projects worthy of inclusion in the portfolio and continues to monitor progress through an annual review of all projects. This committee consists of experts from both industry and academia and covers the full range of expertise required to assess projects that are engaging in the extremely complex process of drug research and development.

ESAC Members

Dr Jane Achan, Senior Research Advisor, Malaria Consortium, United Kingdom/Uganda

Dr Nick Cammack, Head, Priority Area, Wellcome Trust, UK 

Dr Robert Clay, Former Vice President of Global Regulatory Affairs at AstraZeneca. Consultant, Regulatory Science, Drug Development and Business Strategy, UK

Prof Brian Cox, Emeritus Professor of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of Sussex, School of Life Sciences, UK

Ms Delese Mimi Darko, Chief Executive Officer, Safety Monitoring & Clinical Trials Division, Food and Drugs Authority, Ghana

Dr Monica Hemben Eimunjeze, Director, Registration & Regulatory Affairs Directorate, National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC), Nigeria

Dr Rick Fairhurst, Pharmacovigilance Medical Director, Chief Medical Office, Oncology R&D, AstraZeneca, USA

Dr Laurent Hennequin, Former Research Director, Galderma R&D, France

Dr Philip Hipskind, Former Lilly Portfolio Manager, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Scientific Officer of Lgenia, USA 

Dr Robert T. Jacobs, Former Vice-President of Chemistry, Anacor Pharmaceuticals; Drug Discovery Consultant, USA

Dr Mary Mader, Co-Chair MMV ESAC (Discovery), Vice President of Chemistry at Relay Therapeutics in Cambridge, MA, USA 

Dr Lynn Marks, Former Senior Vice President GlaxoSmithKline R&D; and Co-Chair MMV ESAC (Development) USA

Dr George Mooney, Drug Discovery Consultant and former Vice-President of Pfizer Global Research & Development, USA

Dr Jetsumon Prachmusri, Head of Mahidol Vivax Research Unit (MVRU), Faculty of Tropical Medicine, Mahidol University, Thailand

Dr Robert Riley, Executive Vice President, Drug Discovery, Evotec, UK

Prof Phil Rosenthal, Professor, Department of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, USA

Dr Esperança Sevene, Senior Research Fellow, Manhiça Health Research Centre, Mozambique

Dr Peter Siegl, Siegl Pharma Consulting, USA

Prof Shailja Singh, Professor, Special Centre for Molecular Medicine, Jawaharlal Nehru University, India

Prof Dennis Smith, Former Vice President, PGRD, Pfizer, Kent, UK

Prof Dominique Soldati Favre, Professor and Head of Department of Microbiology and Molecular Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, University of Geneva, Switzerland

Prof Srivicha Krudsood, Head, Clinical Malaria Research Unit, Faculty of Tropical Medicine, Mahidol University, Thailand.

Dr Jane Stewart, Reproductive Toxicology Associate, ApconiX, UK

Dr John R.J. Surtees, Managing Partner, Berzelius Integrated Solutions, Belgium

Dr Melissa Tassinari, Former Senior Clinical Advisor, Food and Drug Administration, USA

Dr Elizabeth Vadas, Former Executive Director Merck Frosst and Merck & Co; Consultant InSciTech Inc., Canada

Prof Simon Ward, Sêr Cymru Professor in Translational Drug Discovery and Director of the Medicines Institute at Cardiff University, UK 

Prof Dyann Wirth, Director, Harvard Malaria Initiative, Harvard School of Public Health, USA

Dr Taiyin Yang, Executive Vice President, Pharmaceutical Development and Manufacturing, Gilead Sciences, USA

Dr Takeshi Yura, Regional Lead, Healthcare and Life Sciences at British Embassy Tokyo, Japan