Board of Directors

Board of Directors

MMV is governed by a Board of a maximum of 18 members, chosen for their scientific, medical and public health expertise in malaria and related fields, their research and management competence as well as their experience in business, finance and fundraising.

The MMV Board meets at least twice a year. It is the highest policy and decision-making body of the Foundation, whose main duty is to ensure that the management, through the annual budget and work plan, is efficiently executing the objectives of MMV. It establishes the policies and principles followed by the Foundation and also appoints the President and Chief Executive Officer.

Dr Aileen Allsop, Former VP and head of the Infection Therapy area and VP Science Policy both with AstraZeneca. Former Council member and Review Panel chair with the Royal Society of Biology in the UK and a former Trustee of the Primary Science Teaching trust. Chair of the UK government review of Science and Society. Part of ESAC for over 8 years and former chair of Emerging Technology Reviews for MMV.


Dr David Brandling-Bennett, Former Senior Advisor, Malaria, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, USA.

Ms Jennifer Cain Birkmose, Senior Principal, IQVIA, Co-founder and CEO of VivaValet. Former Vice President, Global Head of Patient Access SOBI and former Head of Access, Region Europe, Roche. INSEAD lecturer. Former Project officer, European Observatory on Health Care Systems, WHO Regional Office for Europe.

Portrait photo of Prof. Blumberg

Professor Lucille H Blumberg, MB BCH MMed (Clin Micro) ID (SA) FFTM (RCP Glasgow, travel medicine) DTM&H DOH DCH D.Sc. (Med) honoris causa University of the Witwatersrand, Former Deputy Director of the National Institute for Communicable Diseases and the National Health Laboratory Service, and founding head of the Division of Public Health Surveillance and Response; Medical consultant to the Centre for Emerging, Zoonotic and Parasitic Diseases; Consultant in Infectious Diseases at ‘Right to Care,’ South Africa. 

Mr Alan Court, Chairman of MMV Board, Senior Adviser to the WHO Ambassador for Global Strategy, USA; Former Director of the UNICEF Programme Division in New York; Former Director of the UNICEF Supply Division in Copenhagen.

Professor Sir Michael Ferguson, Regius Professor of Life Sciences and Associate Dean for Research Strategy, University of Dundee, Scotland.

Ms Yuli Ismartono, Co-founder and managing editor of the weekly online AsiaViews portal. Formerly with the weekly current affairs TEMPO magazine. Board member of Nature Resources Governance Institute (NRGI), the Coral Triangle Center (CTC), the Prestasi Junior Indonesia (PJI) foundation and the Alternative Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ALTSEAN), Indonesia.

Mr Gabriel Jaramillo,  Former General Manager of the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, Switzerland.

Dr Dominique Limet, Former Chief Executive Officer, ViiV Healthcare, London, United Kingdom.

Ms Elizabeth J. Linder, Founder & CEO, Chief Diplomatic Officer, Brooch Associates; Co-Chair, St. James's Roundtable, Chatham House; Chair, Kinross House Meetings; Member, Ditchley Park Programme Committee; former Facebook Spokesperson and Politics & Government Specialist (California and EMEA region); former Google & YouTube Global Communications & Public Policy (California). Princeton University. USA/UK.  

Portrait Gustavo Murgel

Mr Gustavo Murgel, Former Senior Executive for financial groups, including ING, Santander and Itaú (1985-2019), in Brazilian and international markets. Presently member of Executive Board for education related NGOs in Brazil.

portrait photo of Dr Ngashi

Dr Ngashi Ngongo, PhD, MD, MPH, Executive Director, International Centre for Health Systems Strengthening (ICHESS), USA; Former Team Leader UNICEF Global Malaria Program, New York, USA; Former Team Leader UNICEF PMTCT and Pediatric HIV Care, New York, USA; Former Team Leader UNICEF Health System Strengthening, New York, USA; Former Team Leader, UNICEF Ebola Health Response, Liberia and DRC; Principal Advisor, Child Survival and Development for West and Central Africa; Regional Polio Team Lead for West and Central Africa; Former Chief of Health and Nutrition, RSA; Board Member, PROSAMI, Virginia, USA; Lecturer, University of Lubumbashi, DRC.

Ms Joy Phumaphi, Co-Chair of the Independent Expert Review Group for Every Woman Every Child; Chair of the Global Leaders Council for Reproductive Health; and Executive Secretary of ALMA, USA.

Dr David Reddy, CEO, MMV, Switzerland.

Dr Wendy R. Sanhai, Ph.D., MBA,  Deloitte Consulting, LLP (Federal Strategy and Operations), Associate Professor (adj), Duke University, School of Medicine; Former: Senior Scientific Advisor, Office of the Commissioner, US Food and Drug Administration (FDA); Former: Senior Director, Global Regulatory Affairs, GSK, USA.

Portrait Elisabeth Svanberg

Dr Elisabeth Svanberg, MD, PhD, former Vice President of Established Products, Johnson &Johnson, USA; former Vice President of Medical Affairs Intercontinental Region, Bristol-Myers Squibb, USA; Board Member of Galapagos, Belgium; Board Member of Swedish Orphan Biovitrum (SOBI), Sweden. Geneva, Switzerland.