Expert Scientific Advisory Committee (ESAC)

MMV’s Expert Scientific Advisory Committee (ESAC) helps to identify the best projects worthy of inclusion in the portfolio and continues to monitor progress through an annual review of all projects. This committee consists of experts from both industry and academia and covers the full range of expertise required to assess projects that are engaging in the extremely complex process of drug research and development.

ESAC Members

Dr Aileen Allsop Former Vice President for Science Policy, R&D, AstraZeneca, UK

Dr Thomas Baillie Vice Provost, Strategic Initiatives, University of Washington, Seattle, USA 

Dr Tesfaye Biftu Principal Scientist, Merck and Co., USA

Dr Robert Clay Consultant, Highbury Regulatory Science Limited and Chief Regulatory Officer, Kinapse Ltd., UK

Prof Umberto D'Alessandro Theme Leader Disease Control and Elimination, Medical Research Council, The Gambia

Dr Michael Dunne Chief Medical Officer, Durata Therapeutics, USA

Prof Paul Fish Chair of Medicinal Chemistry, University College London, UK

Prof Daniel Goldberg Professor and Co-Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases Department of Medicine Washington University, USA

Dr Kasturi Haldar Professor, Julius Nieuwland Chair of Biological Sciences, Director, Center for Rare and Neglected Diseases, University of Notre Dame, USA

Dr Tim Hammond Independent Pharmaceutical Preclinical Safety Consultant at Preclinical Safety Consulting Ltd, UK

Prof Dennis Kyle Distinguished University Health Professor, College of Public Health, University of South Florida, USA

Dr Marcus Lacerda Director of Leaning and Research at the FMT-HVD, Brazil

Prof John Lambert Chief Medical Officer, Global Head Medical Affairs and Consulting, PAREXEL International – Early Phase, UK

Dr Mary Mader Senior Research Advisor, Discovery Chemistry Research and Technologies, Eli Lilly and Company, USA  

Dr Christine Manyando, Head of Public Health Department, Tropical Diseases Research Centre, Ndola, Zambia      

Dr George K Mooney KGM Pharma Consulting LLC, USA

Dr John Pottage Chief Scientific and Medical Officer, ViiV Healthcare, USA; and Co-Chairman MMV ESAC (Development)

Dr Paul Reider, Pharmaceutical Specialist and Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, Princeton University, NJ, USA          

Dr David Roberts Independent Scientific Consultant, Congleton, UK

Prof Dennis Shanks Army Malaria Institute, Australia

Dr Dennis Schmatz former Vice President, Head of Tsukuba Research Institute, Merck-Banyu Research Laboratories, Japan; and Co-Chairman MMV ESAC (Discovery)

Dr Peter Siegl Director, Siegl Pharma Consulting LLC, PA, USA

Dr Sodiomon Sirima Centre National de Recherche et de Formation sur le Paludisme (CNRFP), Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

Dr Per Sjoberg Partner, Eureda, Sweden

Prof Dennis Smith former Vice President, PGRD, Pfizer, Kent, UK

Dr Klaus Urbahns Head of Discovery Technologies at Merck Group, Germany

Dr Elizabeth Vadas InSciTech Inc, Canada

Dr Thomas Wellems Chief, Laboratory of Malaria and Vector Research (LMVR), National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, USA

Dr Matthew Wyvratt Senior Vice President, Drug Discovery, Motif BioSciences, Inc., New York, USA